Jury Shortlist  


Jerry Pinto
Speaking Tiger

Karan Mahajan
HarperCollins Publishers India

Manu Bhattathiri
HarperCollins Publishers India

Namita Gokhale
Penguin Random House India

Sujit Saraf
Speaking Tiger


Pradeep Damodaran
Hachette India

Pankaj Mishra

Amitav Ghosh
Penguin Random House India

Josy Joseph
HarperCollins Publishers India

Shashi Tharoor
Aleph Book Company 

Children's Books

Roopa Pai and Kaveri Gopalakrishnan
Pratham Books

Rupa Gulab
Duckbill Books

Anita Nair
Penguin Random House India - Puffin

Ruskin Bond
Rupa Publications


Subhash Chandran. Translator : Fathima. E.V. Language : Malayalam
HarperCollins Publishers India

Malika Amar Shaikh. Translator : Jerry Pinto. Language : Marathi
Speaking Tiger

Krishna Sobti.
Translator : Neer Kanwal Mani & Moyna Mazumdar Language : Hindi
HarperCollins Publishers India

Translator : Prema Jayakumar
Language : Malayalam
Niyogi Books

U. R. Ananthamurthy. Translator: Chandan Gowda
Language : Kannada
Oxford University Press

  About The Award  

Raymond Crossword Book Awards not only recognize and reward good writing, but also actively promote Indian authors and their books
- making it the only Indian award of its kind to do so.

The only Literary Award in India for the Indian Authors spread across Lifetime Achievement, Fiction, Non-Fiction, Children’s, Translations and Popular Categories.

This year, the 15th Raymond Crossword Book Award will consist of the Jury Awards- Indian Fiction, Indian Non Fiction, English Language Translation & Children’s Writing Award with The Popular Award- Best Fiction Book of the year, Best Non Fiction of the year, Readers’ Choice Best Biography Book of the Year, Management Book of the Year, Health & Fitness Book of the Year, Best Children’s Book of the Year, and a Lifetime Achievement Award.

So rise to the need where the ear enjoys the melody played through the thoughtful words, eyes meet face to the written word, mind is allowed to wonder.

Raymond Crossword Book Award is the only forum in India that gives a face to Indian authors and Indian literature, with a well-rounded jury mining gems from the length and breadth of the country.

These are your awards - join us in celebrating Indian writing.

“Before the award, I was known as ‘a leading writer from Kerala’ or ‘a leading Malayali writer’. When I won the Crossword Book Award in 1999, the press qualified me as ‘a leading Indian writer’.

Yes, this is what the award means to me.

All of a sudden, it transforms a regional writer like me into a national writer.

The Crossword Book Award gives us writers a new identity and an unflinching self-confidence. Bravo!

- M. Mukundan, winner of the 2006 Indian Language Fiction Translation Award for ‘Kesavan’s Lamentations’

“Winning the Crossword Book Award was one of the high points of my writing life and the reason for that is that there is no Award like the Crossword Award…

The thing about the Crossword Award is that we know who the jury is, we may not know before hand, but we do see afterwards.

These are our peers and there’s something spectacularly wonderful about being judged by your peers.

For me, it was deeply moving; it meant more to me than any other Award I’ve received.

-Amitav Ghosh, winner of the 2004 English Fiction prize for ‘The Hungry Tide’

“Contrary to popular opinion, Crossword hasn’t quite provided an Indian Booker.

Instead, it has gone one better – demonstrated that there’s enough good literature coming out of the country for us to have our own derby without looking longingly towards a western field of dreams.

Nilanjana Roy,
Business Standard

“While any talk of literary awards, especially Indian writing in English, eventually leads to Bookers, Whitbread’s and Pulitzers — in spite of our very own Sahitya Akademi and Jnanpith awards

Jnanpith awards — Vodafone Crossword Book Award is slowly but surely gaining prominence as a veritable Indian version of the Booker prize.

In fact, many Indian authors are appreciating this as a gesture of Indian books being lauded by Indians. Essentially, this is what the Vodafone Crossword Book Award aims to do.

Instituted in 1998, it wants to compete with the biggies.

In fact, it's already out to give the other awards some serious competition

-‘Naipaul, Rushdie in Indian Booker race’, CNN-IBN (www.ibnlive.com), 18th January 2006.